Wolverine – The End (2003)

As part of Marvel‘s The End series the comic details Wolverine’s last adventure.  The story, written by Paul Jenkins, depicts Wolverine as an old man living in the Canadian wilderness facing his own mortality. Events depicted within Wolverine: The End have been contradicted in other works, which leaves the work’s status within continuity and a future canon uncertain.

Wolverine – One-Shots (1990’s)

Wolverine V2 (1980’s)

In November 1988, Marvel launched an ongoing Wolverine solo book written by Claremont with art by John Buscema. It ran for 189 issues. Larry Hama later took over the series and had an extensive run. Other writers who wrote for the two Wolverine ongoing series include Peter David, Archie Goodwin, Erik Larsen, Frank Tieri, Greg Rucka, Mark Millar, and Gregg Hurwitz. Many artists have also worked on the series, including John Byrne, Gene Colan, Marc Silvestri, Mark Texeira, Adam Kubert, Leinil Francis Yu, Rob Liefeld, Sean Chen,Darick Robertson, John Romita, Jr., and Humberto Ramos. During the 1990s, the character was revealed to have bone claws, after his adamantium is ripped out by Magneto in X-Men #25, which was inspired by a passing joke of Peter David’s.

Wolverine V3 (2000’s)

In 2008, writer Mark Millar and artist Steve McNiven explored a possible future for Wolverine in an eight-issue story arc entitled “Old Man Logan” that debuted with Wolverine #66. Millar, the writer for the story, said, “It’s The Dark Knight Returns for Wolverine, essentially. The big, wide, show-stopping series that plays around with the most popular Marvel character of the last forty years, a dystopian vision of the Marvel Universe and a unique look at their futures. The heroes have gone, the villains have won and we’re two generations away from the Marvel we know.

Wolverine and the X-Men (2011)

During the 2011 crossover X-Men: Regenesis, Wolverine left Utopia with a group of X-Men and students. They moved back to Westchester, New York, where they founded the Jean Grey School for Higher Learning.

The initial issues of Wolverine and the X-Men mainly featured the Jean Grey School and its faculty and students. The main antagonist in the book was a new Hellfire Club made up of homicidal genius children, led by Kade Kilgore. Starting from issue #9 the series became a tie-in to the Avengers vs. X-Men event until issue #18, except for issue #17 which featured a standalone story. Starting from issue #19, the series became part of the Marvel NOW! event. According to writer Jason Aaron, the book would follow the events of issue #18, in which the character Broo was shot in the head, and would return to the same type of stories that they were doing before Avengers vs. X-Men. “This is our first Marvel NOW! issue, issue #19, so if anything we’re trying to get back to where we were before the ‘AvX’ madness. It picks up right after the events of 18. There were a lot of angry people on the Internet, which was great. It made my day.”. It was also said that Husk would leave the school and a new member will join the faculty who was later revealed to be Storm.

Wolverine/Punisher (2004)

Deep in the South American jungle there’s a place of legend – a final refuge for the nastiest of the nasty to disappear when, say …a guy like the PUNISHER is hunting you down. Now, Frank Castle is about to stumble upon it, and hardened men he’s driven there like frightened rats – men who’ve had nothing but time to contemplate their fate and the man responsible for it – are ready for him. But what they don’t know is that there’s someone hot on the Punisher’s trail: the mutant known as Wolverine!

Wolverine – Mini Series (1982)

The first Wolverine series was a limited series written by Chris Claremont with pencils by Frank Miller, inks by Joe Rubinstein, letters by Tom Orzechowski, and colors by Glynis WeinMarvel Comics published the series from September to December 1982. This story arc covers the events leading up to Wolverine’s engagement to Mariko Yashida.

Wolverine V2 (2000’s)

An ongoing Wolverine series started publication in 1988 and lasted until 2003 when it was relaunched after issue 189. The original creative team consisted of writer Chris Claremont and penciler John Buscema. Claremont described the series as “high adventure rather than super heroics, sort of a combination of Conan meets Terry and the Pirates.” As a visual manifestation of the series’ break from the traditional superhero genre, throughout Claremont’s run Wolverine wears either civilian clothes or a mask-less, all black outfit instead of his superhero costume, and costumed characters in general were few and far between. Nearly half of the series’s run was written by Larry Hama.

All-New Wolverine (2015)

The character X-23 becomes the new Wolverine in the series, succeeding Logan, with a new costume resembling the original Wolverine’s. The series is written by Tom Taylor with art by David López.

Wolverine V5 (2013)

When Wolverine finds himself the bargaining chip in a hostage situation, he must make a decision to save a little boy that will follow him forever…literally! How can a berserker fight what he can’t see? And how far will he go to assert his humanity in the face of the Unknown? Find out when superstars Paul Cornell  and Alan Davis take on the Wolverine!